Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Bombay Bicycle Club"

6-6a Brougham Place, Edinburgh, EH3 9HW, 0131 229 3839 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Bombay Bicycle Club" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 16 reviews
overall
 3.9
with an average price of £26.38
pre-starters
 3.9
starters
 3.9
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.8
service
 3.9
atmosphere
 3.7
value for money
 3.5

reviewer Jean Houston
review date February 2014
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Very good tasty dips with the ppds. The Spicy Garlic Mushroom starter was certainly nice and spicy, but not at all garlicky. So mixed feelings about that. My main dish was Marco Polo a medium-hot chicken dish with red peppers. The chicken was well marinated with the special spices, something that made the chicken pieces nearly as red as the peppers. I enjoyed both dishes, but both were too filling for me to finish.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date February 2014
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment Pops were very light and crispy, but the dips were a bit bland.

Mixed kebab was lovely - nice and spicy, and probably one of the nicest sheek kebabs I've had! However, the lamb was a bit tough.

Madrasi Sag Gosht was stunning. Lovely texture and a very buxom in flavour (yes, I've just used that word to describe it) with the spinach and garlic. The steam cooked lamb just melted in the mouth!

Mushroom bhaji was very nice. Tarka dahl was one of the best ever as was the sag aloo!

Service was a bit slow to start (had to be prompted for popadoms and then to take the order), but the food was all served hot and allowed me to make my 21:30 train.

We were near enough the only ones in the restaurant which was a shame - with food this good it should be full!
overall
 4.1

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date February 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Warm, fresh and crispy poppodums. The chutneys and pickles were very good although for my taste, the lime pickle was a bit tame.

Starter of murgh kebab. Chicken was tender and juicy with a nice amount of spice plus a generous side salad.

Main of green masala lamb. A well spiced dish with a fair amount of all things green (i.e. spinach, green chillies & coriander). As the lamb was from the tandoor oven it didn't fall off the knife but was still pretty good.

The stand out of the evening was the tarkha dahl, which was amongst the best we've had. Good consistency with plenty of garlic. It really hit the spot! The other sides of sag aloo and mushroom bhaji were both good as well.

I also thought the service was pretty good and we did get a complimentary Baileys ice cream to round off the evening.

I would have to say that I liked the BBC and felt the food overall was of a very good standard. Definitely one of the better ones!
overall
 4.1

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date February 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £27
comment Starter was vegtable pakora, spicy, rather pleasant.

Main was sarisha, which was chicken with mustard paste, chilli and coriander. Mildly spicy and pleasant.
.

We were given a shot of bailies as a sweetner with the bill along with the usual mints. Reminded me of tenerife.

Service was marked down due to my pet hate of having to stretch over to collect a plate, when the waiter can guiet easily walk round to serve properly.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date August 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Starter - Mixed Kebab - it had fried vegie thing, that should not be seen in a mixed Kebab. Portions of meat a bit skimpy, I thought.

Atmosphere - 1st time I have been since decore revamp - good improvement. looks more modern.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Jean Houston
review date August 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment I've not been to this restaurant before, so don't know what changes have been made. But for me there was not an 'Indian-y' atmosphere. Not even any music. Also did not like being in clear view of passers-by. However, the service must be about the best we've had at CTCT, fast and friendly.
As for food, fab orange juice! great starter, but not able to do justice to main dish as I was quite full by then.
The hot towel is always a bonus, but we've had hotter.
overall
 4.1

reviewer James McCamphill
review date August 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pop's were fresh and crispy and came with plenty of pickles of which the lime pickle was very nice and gave me that sour face look, lovely.
Chicken Baja starter was good too, meat was nice and tender and sauce was well spiced and very tasty.

Main of Lamb Chilli Garlic was only let down by the very toug and chewy meat. Loads of big bits of garlic throughout and just enough heat with the green chillis.

Service was very good and speedy with no mistakes and no unnecessary waiting.
All in all a very good feed for a very reasonable price.
overall
 4.3

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date August 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Popadoms very crispy. Dips nice and again, the lime pickle not too sour for me.

Mixed kebab to start was very nice meat, but I don't think there should be some deep fried veg pakora type thing with a kebab dish.

Chicken Marcopolo "crazy hot" was quite warm and gradually built up a bit of heat. Very sharp taste to the sauce, but lacked something - I don't know what. Only 4 bits of chicken though and I'm sorry, but a few strips of red pepper don't make up for lack of meat.

Tarka Dahl nice, but the Bindi bhaji had a few bits of Okra that were past their best.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date August 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment The interior of the restaurant has had a makeover since last I was here (about 2 years ago) and I think for the better.

Now on to the food. The poppadum was very crispy and I thought the sauces and lime pickle were very nice, as was my starter. I had murgh tikka kebab and the chicken was very succulent and tasty.

My main dish of sag ghost was very tasty too. The lamb was very well cooked (no tough bits at all!) and the sauce had a bit of heat to it too.

Thought the sides were pretty good although they disappeared quite quickly and so was only able to try a little bit of each!

The service was excellent. Very fast and accurate, all the more impressive considering that it was busier than the Khukuri last month where the service was a bit shambolic.

Overall impression is of a very good restaurant that doesn't quite reach outstanding, service apart!
overall
 4.4

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date August 2009
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
overall
 4.0

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date August 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Good quality meat in the Mixed Kebab starter.

I had a veggie Main, but it was disappointing. Sauce was pretty tasteless and the only spice came from green chillis. In addition, the vegetables were all a bit oily:-(

Tarkha Dhall side dish was much better, but possibly needs a little more garlic.

Very friendly staff and restaurant surprisingly busy.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Bob Marshall
review date August 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Enjoyed the mixed kebab with a varity of sauces.
For the main course I had the chicken "Marcopolo" again very enjoyable with good portions all round.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Paul Hay
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment when are we going again, the best i have had for a while.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Jamie Girdwood
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30
comment I had the malya chicken for main. Creamy not spicey.
overall
 3.1

reviewer Graeme Kelly
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Wide selection on the menu.

Prawn puri very nice, and not as heavy and filling as it can sometimes be.

My main was "Bojpuri" <sp?>. Not on the online menu, so I can't double check, but I'm sure it was described as "fairly hot" and with "green chillies". So I was a bit disappointed when I got a very mild tomatoey concoction with no green meanies whatsoever :-(

Overall - not bad.
overall
 3.4

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms were very crispy and there was a nice selection of dips. Lime pickle acceptable to my pallet too!

King prawn puri was very tasty indeed, however I'd have preferred it if the prawns were inside the puri instead of at the side. Also, who chops up king prawns???

The Marcopolo (with chicken) was fantastic too. Only 4 bits of chicken though, however they were reasonably large. Nice mix of flavours, chunks of veg (onions and peppers) and a bit of a kick with the "green beans"

Sides very tasty too, although more lentils than garlic in the tarka dall.
overall
 4.4

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80319 times ]