Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Bay of Bengal"

164 High Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1QS, 0131 225 2361 map www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "Bay of Bengal" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 14 reviews
overall
 3.3
with an average price of £29.26
pre-starters
 3.4
starters
 2.6
mains
 3.6
sides
 3.6
service
 3.8
atmosphere
 3.1
value for money
 2.8

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date September 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Starter was mixed kebab - very small portions.
Main was Chicken Bhuna, rice & Garlic bread. It was decent.

Sides Mushroom Baji, Taka dal - they were good.

Place has been done up since I was last there.
Is now modern, bright room with new neon signage.
I prefered it when it was more traditional style.

They gave us complimentary short at the end, Brandy for me. Refused to take Mccoys vouchers.


overall
 3.6

reviewer James McCamphill
review date September 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.0
price £27.50 (including tip)
comment Pops: a bit stale but not to bad with the chutney. Onions were nice but lime pickle was salty.
Starter: lamb kebab was tasty but portion was a bit on the small side. Meat tender and had good spice.
Main:lamb bhuna not really impressed with this dish, not much flavour nor spice nor heat. meat was chewy and had grisly bits throughout.
Sides not good either Tarka Dahl thin and bland. Nans not quite right either.
Service was very quick and efficient. I am going home slightly early yet hungry from curry club for the first time in a long time not recommended nuff said
overall
 2.5

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date September 2011
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 2.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 2.0
price £27.20 (including tip)
comment Not the freshest of poppodums. Lime pickle a tad salty and the spiced onions were mediocre. Below average.

Starter of mixed kebab. Chicken kebab was quite good and reasonably spicy but I felt the lamb kebab was a bit chewy and it was also still a bit caked in the spice mix for my liking.

Main of methi ghost. My first reaction was that there was too many onions in the dish - as much as was in Phil's Dopiaza - which I don't think is right! But that aside the lamb was cooked well (although I had one grisly chunk) and the dish had some decent spice to it. Also quite liked the lemon rice but thought the pilau rice tasted a bit strange!

The sides of tarka dahl, sag aloo and mushroom bhaji, all a bit bland.

Service was functional and prompt. In fact I think we set a new CTCT record by being finished before quarter to nine! Mind you we were only 7 and there wasn't many other diners!

I have to mark this one down as poor and disappointing, I'm afraid!


overall
 2.8

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date September 2011
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 1.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £27 (including tip)
overall
 3.1

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date July 2008
starters
 3.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Poppadoms a bit stale. Mixed kebab nice enough. Chilli garlic chicken most excellent! Nice and hot but still tasty. A nice oportunity to partake of the sides due to the lack of coriander. Tarka Dahl a bit too runny though and not enough garlic. NO CORIANDER!! EXCELLENT!! After dinner Baileys - what more need I say! A++++!
overall
 4.2

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date July 2008
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Poor starter but got better. Bhindi Bhaji very good.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Jean Houston
review date July 2008
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30.00 (including service charge)
overall
 3.9

reviewer Helen Forrester
review date July 2008
starters
 1.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Car parking - poor. Food tasty.
overall
 1.8

reviewer Helen Cameron
review date July 2008
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Bhuna prawn on puri very average. No coriander delivered apparently and sorely missed. Main - sauce okay, but lamb was tough. Didn't like saag aloo (no potato) and I never don't like saag aloo! Starters - orders were asked for first so that they could get on with preparing. Probably supposed to be a thoughtful touch, but made me feel rushed. Bhindi Bhaji okay though. Overall: not impressed.
overall
 2.5

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date July 2008
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Popadoms a bit stale. Prawn Puri very bland, but a good portion size, however the side salad was pathetic. A slice of lemon would have been nice too. Kerela chicken had a nice kick, but not much flavour. Tarka Dahl lacking in garlic, but the other sides were good. Definitelly noticed the lack or coriander in all dishes - I'm sure they could have got some from somewhere even though their delivery failed. Perhaps the price and food quality had something to do with wanting festival through-put. Slight recovery by them providing after dinner drinks and chocolates.
overall
 2.9

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date July 2008
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Bland starter with very small side salad. However, the main course was very good and the side dishes were very flavoursome. Seemed a tad expensive for what we had.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date July 2008
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Excellent pickles. Prawn Puri un-inspiring.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date July 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Starter could do with lemon. Coriander omission a little disappointing. That said, very good overall, particularly at festival time.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date July 2008
starters
 1.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Complimentary brandy!
overall
 3.4

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81706 times ]