Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Ann Purna"

45 St. Patrick Square, Edinburgh, EH8 9ET, 0131 662 1807 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Ann Purna" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 10 reviews
overall
 2.4
with an average price of £24.80
pre-starters
 1.8
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.6
sides
 2.9
service
 3.2
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.0

reviewer Stephen Hunt
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 2.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment Pre:- Worst popadom ever sampled, gets a point as the pickle was alright but low in volume.

starter:- Definately highlight of meal, good selection of different bits to try, some of which had a medium amount of kick to them. Sauce was also nice.

mains:- agree with someone who said if they had been mains we would have asked where the rest of them were. Small portions, and all but a spicy sweet and sour dish tasted very similar.

sides (dahl/rice/naan):- dahl was nice, very garlic-y but would have preferred it a bit thicker.

Service:- Average for our group size and not very slick for somewhere that has been open a while now e.g. chipped plate/wrong drinks order

Atmosphere:- Fairly friendly and piped music wasnt overly intrusive.

VfM:- cost above included 241 vouchers so would have been very pricey without. For the first time i left a CTCT curry still feeling a bit hungry. For the portion sizes it really is overpriced.




overall
 2.2

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 2.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment Stale popadoms. Nice selection of pickles, but could have done with more of each for 1 tray between 3.

Selection of Veg dishes for main were nice, but perhaps not quite enough.
overall
 3.0

reviewer Paul Lambard
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £25
comment Stale starters boo!
overall
 3.1

reviewer Paul Lafferty
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 2.0
mains
 2.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 1.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pre - very fast and great choice of dips. Not enough of each dip though. Also refilled the popadoms without asking.

Starters were OK, not great not bad.

Mains were OK, a range of flavours, not spicy at all. I do love meat so it was a hard one to win me over. Don't think there was enough of what we were served.

Value for money was not great.

Service was friendly although few things spring to mind.
1, they messed up drinks orders at least twice,
2, the wait between starters and mains was far too long especially considering we were doing a banquet style set of dishes to share. This should result in faster service.
3, We had to ask twice for the bill to be split (one person was paying with a company credit card)

Overall I was underwhelmed, I love meat and while trying a vegie venue once is OK, I left unsatisfied. I guess it would be akin to taking an Alcoholic to a juice bar......

I won't be going here again!
overall
 1.8

reviewer Jean Houston
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 2.0
price £25
comment I think I got 1 of maybe 4 ppdms that was ok. Even with 6 dips amounts too small. Not too much taste.

Starters were best part. Liked the selection, quite enjoyed the spicy balls and aubergines.

Liked the way they served the main dishes with time to try one and pass it round before the next one arrived, but another couple of dishes wouldn't have gone amiss.

£25 not vfm when we had the vouchers and no meat on the menu. Must have been the drinks!
overall
 2.8

reviewer James McCamphill
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 0.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 2.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment The WORST most stale and bendy Pops I have ever had, although hungry I couldn't even eat it all. Pickles were ok but portions on the small side.

The mixed platter starter contained nothing noteworthy with the balls being the best and the samosa being a bit dry inside. just a well that the accompanying sauce was on hand and was very tasty too.

Main dishes that we got were again ok but again the portion sizes are small. I doubt that if we wern't having a banquet style dinner that the portions would be that small, nor go unnoticed. The chick pea and potato dish was def the pick of the bunch for me. Sweet and sour courgette without the sour made it ......hmmmmm....too sweet! The Dahl was far far too thin (although had loads of Garlic). Which is just as well because the Naans did not. Rice was v good.

Service was pleasent and accommodating, the place itself was clean and well presented.

Overall below average food and a bit pricey for what we had and I left a little hungry (meaning not as stuffed as usual).
overall
 2.7

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 0.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 2.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 1.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Summary: very over-priced "side dish" restaurant!

A large selection of dips with the popadoms (six in total), but very small dishes. More importantly, this restaurant wins the award for the most stale popadoms ever! I only ate it as I was hungry!

Mixed starter platter was tasty enough, but basically pick a vegetable and they deep fried it. The round ball thing was the best of the bunch.

The "main dishes" really were the size of most restaurants side dishes, which is ironic since I always jokingly call vegetarian restaurants "side dish restaurants."

The sweet and sour courgette and mushroom was very sweet - not much else to say about it! The chick pea and potato dish was the best of the bunch as it had a bit of spice to it (but nothing to write home about)! The mixed veg dish was just ok. The saag paneer was average. The tarka dahl "soup" was very thin, but at least had a decent garlic flavour. None of them were all that appealing and for main dishes I'd have expected a little more effort.

I've had more flavourful and bigger veg side dishes in proper meat based restaurants!

This has definitely gone downhill since we last visited a few years ago when I recall the food being really quite tasty indeed, although I recall it being a tad expensive back then too.

Even though we had 6 McCoys vouchers (for 6 main courses free), the meal still came to £25 a head which is the average we normally pay in a proper restaurant ... and without vouchers. How on earth they can justify their prices for cooking the cheapest food products available, I'll never know!

Certainly will not be going back! I'd recommend going to Kalpna instead, which is just over the road!

Was tempted to stop at Top Kapi for a chicken kebab on the way home since I was still hungry!
overall
 1.7

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.5
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 1.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Stalest popodums ever - it was like eating cardboard! Not very nice at all.
Decided on giving a mark of 1 out of 5 as I quite liked some of the dips.
There was a decent selection but they were quite small and for me I would have preferred more lime pickle!

A mixed veg starter that was a bit mixed! I thought the pakora and the fried vegetable curl thing were really nice but the mushroom in batter and samosa were not that great. Ran out of the Tamarind sauce very quickly too!

The main was a selection of vegetable dishes which apart from the Tarka Dahl "Soup" were presented in side dish size, so it was a selection of sides.

I did enjoy the Tarkha dahl which had a really nice rich garlic flavour, but it was a bit thin and watery! Also liked the chickpeas with potato and I thought the sag paneer was ok. However I didn't like the sweet and sour dish (too sweet) or the mixed vegetable one with cauliflower and peas (non-descript taste).

I felt that the service whilst friendly enough was very slow. I couldn't understand why it took so long, especially as they weren't cooking 11 separate starters and main dishes but a selection of the same things for us all to try!

I was also amazed that given that half the main courses were covered as part of the McCoy's promotion that we ended up paying £25 each! I reckoned that this was poor value for money for what we got! This was my first visit to Ann Purna and I will definitely not be back! I didn't think anything at all came even remotely close to matching the excellent vegetarian meal we had at Kalpna (which is just across the road from Ann Purna) back in June 2009.
overall
 1.8

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 2.0
price £25 (including tip)
overall
 3.3

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 0.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 2.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Not a lot to say on this one, but I share Gavin's sentiments.
overall
 1.2

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80333 times ]