Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Abida"

295a St. John's Road, Edinburgh, EH12 7XF, 0131 334 9998 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Abida" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 13 reviews
overall
 4.1
with an average price of £27.15
pre-starters
 4.3
starters
 4.4
mains
 4.3
sides
 3.7
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.8

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date July 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £26 (including tip)
comment Nice crisp popadoms, with a good selection of pickles in good quantities.

The Lamb Tikka Pathia was a good effort as were the Bhindi Bhaji and Aloo Mushroom.

The Nan breads were a little doughy but had a nice strong garlic taste.

Service was quick and pleasant even though the place was pretty busy.
All round a good competent solid effort
overall
 4.2

reviewer Tina Greig
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment Not very impressed with the service - it took half an hour just for the waiter to come and take our order, and we had to stop him as he walked past.

Nice selection of sauces with the pre-starters.

Barbeque King Prawn starter was nice (especially the spicy green sauce), but very few prawns for a £7 starter!

Balti Garlic Massala Chicken main was good, but I tried a little of someone else's King Prawn Rezala, which was amazing - definitely having that next time!

overall
 3.3

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £27.50
comment Mixed kebab starter
Jaipur masalla lamb

(Tried balti garlic massalla chicken which was really nice too)
overall
 3.8

reviewer Hugh Wells
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £27.50 (including tip)
comment North Indian chilli garlic lamb, boiled rice and a mushroom / potato side.

The main course waa a bit bland. Described as hot and spicy. It was not! Lamb also a bit touch for my liking.

Service was adequate.

Nothing brilliant.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £27.50 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crispy. Nice selection of dips including one that was a spicy sauce. Lime pickle approaching my sourness limit.

Abida Special Puree (saag prawn, hot) was really very tasty indeed. Prawns perfectly cooked and a very gently spice. Not at all on the hot side though, so docking half a mark from what could have been full marks.

Lahori Kahari Lamb was very nice too, although I mussed that the menu read barbecue as I was anticipating melt in the mouth chicken, but that was my fault for not reading the menu properly. Anyway lots of nice chunks of pepper and onion. A few green meanies for heat, but the sauce itself was a bit lacking in body.

Sides were good but pretty average.

Service was a tad slow - they had to be propmpted to get an order of popadoms in.

Overall I was satisfiedly stuffed!
overall
 3.8

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Finally a proper CTCT outing to Abida, where 8 of us went for dinner.
Pre-starter: Nice poppodums and still just about the best collective selection of pickles to be found anywhere in the city.
Starter: Fish Pakora. Tasty fish in a light crispy batter - delicious! My only complaint was that there wasn't enough! Very more-ish (again!).
Main: North Indian Chilli Garlic Lamb. A bit of a departure for me as I've tried quite a lot of the other lamb dishes from the menu already. Unlike some places we've been too this one had lots of chillis and lots of garlic, very tasty and pretty hot. Lamb was not steamed but prepared in a tandoor oven and it too was really good.
Sides: Aloo Baigan Bhaji (Aubergine & Potato) - fantastic. Tarka dahl - very good, with a nice amount of garlic as well.
Service: A bit slower than I have been used to, maybe because of our larger party? I didn't think that they quite managed to serve the 8 of us as well as other places and had to be prompted to supply the poppodums.
Despite that, the food here in my opinion is still among some of the best you will find in Edinburgh and I always enjoy eating here (or getting a takeaway)
overall
 4.3

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment Eevrything well cooked and well presented. Balti Shorisha Chicken was excellent - interesting blend of flavours and the chicken was tender and succulent.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £27
comment Lime Pickle - gooooood!

Mixed Kebab starter was excellent. Enormous for a starter. Lamb Tikka a little tough, but otherwise excellent.

Lamb Jalfrezie Main.
Lamb was well cooked, but of much poorer quality meat than the Lamb Tikka. As a result the dish had a slightly fatty aftertaste. Also, not as spicey as I would expect a Jalfrezie to be.

The restaurant is nicely fitted out, but the staff didn't provide service to match.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Alan Millar
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment Selection of pickles with the popadoms was excellent
Tandouri Chichen starter only beaten by In Touch
King Prawn Ressla- best ive ever tasted.

Service was a bit on the slow side but not too bad
overall
 4.4

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date May 2010
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Another visit to Abida for dinner.
Pre-starter: I thought that collectively this was the best selection of pickles that I've had in some time with poppodums, and I must make a special mention of the fabulous chilli sauce dip.
Starter: Chicken kebab. Thin strips of succulent chicken, perfectly marinated - very moreish!
Main: Lamb Jalfreezie. Tender steamed lamb, just the way I like it, with a very tasty and quite hot sauce with green chillies and red, green and yellow peppers.
Once more I had yet another superb dinner at one of my favourite restaurants.
As an after thought, this meal was exactly what I had at the Himalaya the week before, but this for me was the superior of the two. It made me think that I perhaps a bit generous with my scoring for the Himalaya - but that's only because the food here is really tremendous!

overall
 4.5

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date April 2010
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £27.50 (including tip)
comment Starter: Chicken Pakora - succulent chicken, crispy spicy batter served with a lovely orange dipping sauce, fantastic! 5/5
Main: Green Abida lamb - a lovely combination of heat (provided by green chillies) and tang (by lime and mint). Awesomely good! 5/5
Side: Chana Mushroom - enjoyed the nutty chickpeas with the mushrooms!
Abida is a fabulous restaurant to the extreme west of the city boundaries. If you don't live nearby then it might be a stretch to get to, but in my opinion well worth it! Have had several takeaways from here and always impressive! It is fast becoming one of my favourite restaurants in Edinburgh. Great atmosphere, nice modern and tasteful decor, good service and most importantly top class food!
overall
 4.6

reviewer Tracey Stronach
review date February 2009
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 3.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £30.00 (including tip)
comment I had a starter of Mushroom Pakora that was very good. I also really enjoyed my main course of Sabzi Massalam that had 9 different vegetables in it with paneer cheese.

It has a very good menu for vegetarians! I liked this restaurant very much and I thought the atmosphere and service were tremendous.

Oh and they do takeaways too!
overall
 4.4

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date February 2009
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30.00 (including tip)
comment This restaurant has just recently opened its doors at the end of last month, so my wife and I thought we would go along to try it out.

We went on a Friday night, so it was very busy, creating a great atmosphere of a bustling and lively restaurant. Even though it was busy we found that service was very good and we even had a complimentary liqueur to finish the meal!

The meal itself was excellent! For starters I had an Abida special puree that was pretty good but I couldn’t help but think that the In Touch version is far superior! For my main course I had Sag Ghost. Yes I know not very original on my part, but this was by far the hottest that I’ve had as it had green chillies in it! Very tasty though, as was the superb Tarka Dhal!

We had a great meal but for the purists amongst you, you might find it to be bit lacking in the atmosphere of a traditional Indian restaurant as it is bright and modern and as far as I could discern there was no sound of a sitar at all! However I liked it!
overall
 4.2

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80406 times ]